A Dozen More Green Party Candidates from Metro Detroit

A Dozen More Green Candidates from Metro Detroit Caucuses
Total Now Up to 30 Candidates at All Levels, Topping 2006
GPMI Now Challenging for 13 of 16 Congressional Seats

Michigan Greens from Macomb, Oakland, and Wayne Counties nominated a dozen candidates for the November 4 ballot at a joint metro-Detroit caucus session this Saturday at the International Institute. The caucuses filled all three of their available slots for Congressional candidates. Two-time gubernatorial candidate Doug Campbell is the Green challenger for the 9th District, which is entirely in Oakland County. George L. Corsetti and Clyde Shabazz, both of Detroit, are the Green candidates for the 13th and 14th Congressional Districts respectively.

Their nominations mean Greens will be on the ballot for one US Senate seat and 12 of Michigan’s 15 seats in the US House, GPMI’s widest coverage yet of Federal offices in a single election.

But the triple caucus also nominated candidates at the state and local levels. Greens are running for the State House in five metro districts: the 3rd, 7th, 25th, 27th, and 35th. Three local candidates seeking County Commission seats are joined by attorney Matthew Abel, who is running for Wayne
County Prosecutor.

Saturday’s dozen candidates brings to 30 the total number of Michigan Greens who will be running under the banner of the national Green Presidential ticket: former Congresswoman Cynthia McKinney and Rosa Clemente, founder of the National Hip-Hop Convention.

That tops GPMI’s 2006 total of 28 nominees — five of whom ran for State Senate seats which are not up for election this year.

Three more of the 17 candidates nominated at the GPMI state convention July 26-27 in Marshall have now launched campaign Web sites:

* Ken Mathenia — US House/5th District
* Aimee Smith — US House/15th District
* John Anthony La Pietra — Calhoun County Clerk-Register

A list showing all the candidates nominated to date, with the latest information on how to contact the campaigns for more details, is shown below. The list will be updated as campaigns develop.

GPMI’s Federal and state candidates will also soon be listed on the Bureau of Elections Web page of candidates for the Tuesday, November 4 General election:

For the latest information on the candidates, issues, and values of the Green Party of Michigan, please visit GPMI’s Web site: http://www.MIGreens.org

2008 Candidates
Contact Information
(thru 7pm 8/3/08)

Harley Mikkelson — US Senate
3122 West Caro Road, Caro, MI 48723

Jean Treacy — US House/1st Congressional District
Committee to Elect Jean Treacy for Congress
269 Explorer OR P.O. Box 3285, Gwinn, MI 49841 Kalamazoo, MI 49003

Ken Mathenia — US House/5th Congressional District 05
Friends of Ken Mathenia
232 High Street, Grand Blanc, MI 48439

Rev. Edward Pinkney — US House/6th Congressional District
1940 Union Street, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
alternate address:
Rev. Edward Pinkney #294671
Charles E. Egeler Reception & Guidance Center
3855 Cooper Street, Jackson, MI 49201-7517

Lynn Meadows — US House/7th Congressional District
150 Island Lake Road, Chelsea, MI 48118

Aaron Stuttman — US House/8th Congressional District
Committee to Run Stuttman for Congress
2331 Forest Road, Lansing, MI 48910

Douglas Campbell — US House/9th Congressional District
335 E. Lewiston
Ferndale, MI 48220-1356

Candace Caveny — US House/10th Congressional District
Friends of Candace Caveny
PO Box 1043, Lapeer, MI 48446
Candace@CandaceCaveny.org OR info@CandaceCaveny.org

Erik Shelley — US House/11th Congressional District
19311 Seminole, Redford, MI 48240

Bill Opalicky — US House/12th Congressional District
23631 Philip, Southfield, MI 48075

George L. Corsetti — US House/13th Congressional District
3512 Courville, Detroit, MI 48224

Clyde Shabazz — US House/14th Congressional District
7501 E Jefferson, #513, Detroit, MI 48214

Aimee Smith — US House/15th Congressional District
Committee to Elect Aimee Smith
1321 Wisteria Drive, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Fred Vitale — MI House/3rd District
4190 Kensington Avenue, Detroit, MI 48224

Derek M. Grigsby — MI House/7th District
15845 Normandy Street, Detroit, MI 48238

Richard T. Kuszmar — MI House/25th District
11816 Valley Boulevard, Warren, MI 48093

Shelly M. Bane — MI House/27th District
23315 Tawas, Hazel Park, MI 48030

Franklin Delano Harden — MI House/35th District
21880 Daisy Lane
Southfield, MI 48033

Matt Erard — MI House/53rd District
Committee to Elect Matt Erard for State Representative
641 Prentis Street #G3
Detroit, MI 48204

Dwain Reynolds III — State Board of Education
Committee to Elect Dwain C. Reynolds III
725 Perch Cove Court
Middleville MI 49333

Ellis Boal — University of Michigan Board of Regents
Friends of Ellis Boal
9330 Boyne City Road
Charlevoix, MI 49720

Therese Marie Storm — Michigan State University Board of Trustees
25112 Dockside Lane
Harrison Township, MI 48045

Margaret Guttshall — Wayne State University Board of Governors
4190 Kensington
Detroit, MI 48224

John Anthony La Pietra — Calhoun County Clerk-Register
John Anthony La Pietra For the People
386 Boyer Court
Marshall, MI 49068

Tom Mair — Grand Traverse County Commission/7th District
PO Box 2239
Traverse City, MI 49685

Stephen Weed — Macomb County Commissioner/District 21
30142 Blossom
Roseville, MI 48066

Korine Bachleda — Clerk/Newberg Township/Cass County (I)
59950 County Line Road
Three Rivers, MI 49093

Matthew R. Abel — Wayne County Prosecutor
250 E. Harbortown Drive, #1209
Detroit, MI 48207

Dianne Feeley — Wayne County Commissioner/5th District
1407 Morrell Street
Detroit, MI 48209

Louis M. Novak — Wayne County Commissioner/6th District
18662 Fairfield
Detroit, MI 48221

(I) — incumbent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.