• Green Party Peace Sign Bumper Sticker


    Green Party Peace Sign Bumper Sticker
    The Green Party has continually opposed entry into war and has consistently called for the immediate return of our troops, in stark contrast to the Democratic and Republican parties.
    Today we march, tomorrow we vote Green Party.

  • Occupy Wall Street: What Just Happened?

    Occupy Wall Street: What Just Happened? ebook cover

    |

    Occupy Wall Street: What Just Happened? eBook

    Occupy Wall Street: What Just Happened? eBook on Amazon

    Occupy Wall Street: What Just Happened? eBook

    Reflections on Occupy Wall Street, with photos, fun, and good wishes for the future. eBook, Occupy Wall Street: What Just Happened? (Only $.99 !) In the eBook, the Occupy movement is explored through original reporting, photographs, cartoons, poetry, essays, and reviews.The collection of essays and blog posts records the unfolding of Occupy into the culture from September 2011 to the present.  Authors Kimberly Wilder and Ian Wilder were early supporters of Occupy, using their internet platforms to communicate the changes being created by the American Autumn.

    The eBook is currently available on Amazon for Kindle;  Barnes & Noble Nook ; Smashwords independent eBook seller; and a Kobo for 99 cents and anyone can read it using their Kindle/Nook Reader, smart phone, or computer.

  • Vintage Jewelry


    Please visit our Etsy shop at: Wilderside Vintage and Antique Jewelry
    Eco-Fashion!
    Choosing vintage or antique jewelry to wear and/or gift, is a way to be gentle on the planet. Remembering the Waste Hierarchy Triangle, folks who love the planet should always try to…”Reduce, Reuse, Recycle”. Please share or donate your own jewelry and try buying vintage rather than new.

  • FaceBook

  • Instagram

    Instagram
  • tumblr

  • Pinterest

  • Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire: Ultimate Fan Guide on Smashwords

If you like poetry and culture: Here is Z place to be…

Steven Schmidt is one of our most culturally active friends. Steven used to run the “Z-list” which became famous for its presentation of cultural events and phases of the moon. Kelly Powell is a poet and a mom. Kelly glows with positive energy and community spirit. Steven and Kelly Powell make up one of the most fun, power couples you will ever meet.

I am not sure if this list of their upcoming events was sent to me so that Ian and I can finally pin them down for that dinner we keep saying we will all have together?  Or, if it was a mass e-mail. Though, whatever the reason, these are great recommendations. The Caffé Portofino poetry events are hosted by Steven, and allow ample opportunity for open mic reading.

Please note that Steven and Kelly will be at PeaceSmiths on June 4th! So, I will, eventually get to spend some time with them. And, you can enjoy their company at PeaceSmiths’ very cool, coffeehouse setting, with light refreshments and great music.

The Upcoming, Culturally Exotic Whereabouts of Kelly Powell and Steven Schmidt:

04/30 Fri 7:00pm David Fox and Kelly Powell host
Steven Schmidt reading “Muse poems, nothing but Muse poems”
Plus open reading. http://www.performancepoets.org/
Best Bargain Books in WalMart Shopping Center
217 Middle Country Road, Centereach, NY

05/02 Sun 5-9pm Long Island Poet Laureate party Three Village Inn, Stony Brook
Maxwell Corydon Wheat, Jr.
Gayl Teller
George Wallace
David Axelrod
Tammy Nuzzo-Morgan
tickets & info: http://poetographylongisland.com/eventscalendar.html

05/14 Fri 8pm  Northport Chorale Concert, Northport High School,
Elwood Avenue & Laurel Hill Road
Includes:
Morley’s Now is the month of Maying,
Brahms’ Liebeslieder Walzer (selections),
Lauridsen’s O Magnum Mysterium,
Highlights from Jersey Boys
http://northportchorale.org/

05/25 Tuesday: 7pm Poet Kelly Powell + Open reading Bellmore Memorial Library
www.poetsinnassau.blogspot.com

05/28 Fri 7:30pm poet Dorothy Friedman + open reading.
Caffé Portofino, 249 Main St., Northport, opposite the theatre.
http://persistentfool.blogspot.com/2007/10/poets-in-port.html

06/04 Fri 8:30 pm poets Kelly Powell and Steven Schmidt plus music at
Peacesmiths Coffee House, First United Methodist Church
25 Broadway Ave, southmost end of RT 110 near Merrick Road/Montauk Highway.
http://peacesmiths.wordpress.com/
[Plus, open mic, maybe you! Though, it happens pretty late into the night!]

06/25 Fri 7:30pm poet Mary Jane Tenerelli + open reading.
Caffé Portofino, 249 Main St., Northport, opposite the theater.
http://persistentfool.blogspot.com/2007/10/poets-in-port.html

07/23 Fri 7:30pm poet Joli Ienuso + open reading.
Caffé Portofino, 249 Main St., Northport, opposite the theater.
http://persistentfool.blogspot.com/2007/10/poets-in-port.html

08/27 Fri 7:30pm poet Christine Z. + open reading.
Caffé Portofino, 249 Main St., Northport, opposite the theater.
http://persistentfool.blogspot.com/2007/10/poets-in-port.html

09/24 Fri 7:30pm poet Tara Propper + open reading.
Caffé Portofino, 249 Main St., Northport, opposite the theater.
http://persistentfool.blogspot.com/2007/10/poets-in-port.html

10/22 Fri 7:30pm poet Max Wheat + open reading.
Caffé Portofino, 249 Main St., Northport, opposite the theater.
http://persistentfool.blogspot.com/2007/10/poets-in-port.html

11/26 Fri 7:30pm Open Poetry Reading.
Caffé Portofino, 249 Main St., Northport, opposite the theater.
http://persistentfool.blogspot.com/2007/10/poets-in-port.html

# # #

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.