LI Folk Music Summer 2013

To receive Dick DeBruin’s Song Box Long Island Folk Music listings by email send him a note at RdeBruin@OptonLine.net 

Hungrytown at GPJAC on 7/17/13

Hungrytown at GPJAC on 7/17/13

Wed 6:30– 7:30pm Music in the Park Concerts, Greater Port Jefferson Arts Council, Harborfront Park Bring your Picnic supper Greater Port Jefferson Northern Brookhaven Arts Council www.gpjac.org  631-473.5220 info@gpjac.org + Wed July 17 Hungrytown + Wed July 24 Pat Wictor + Wed July 31 Mick Hargreaves & the King Guys + Wed Aug 7 Gene Casey & the Lone Sharks + Wed Aug 14 Caitlyn Amanda & the Enablers + Wed Aug 21 Caroline Doctorow & Russ Seeger + Wed Aug 28 Shecky & the Twangtones +

Sat July 20 Folk Music Society of Huntington www.fmshny.org 631-425-2925 + Sat July 20 outdoor 12 noon- 6p  all afternoon evening Acoustic Live! in New York City & Beyond Tent Host Richard Cuccaro; 1p Joe Iadanza; 1:15p Tony Denikos; 1:30p John Sonntag; 1:45p Steve Chizmadia; 2p Susan Kane; 2:15p The YaYas; 2:30p Honor Finnegan; 2:45p Paul Sachs; 3p Ina May Wool; 3:15pThe Levins; 3:30p David Goldman; 3:45p Christopher Brown; 4p Arlon Bennett; 4:15p Scott Wolfson & Other Heroes; 4:30p Jeremiah Birnbaum; 4:45p Stuart Markus; 5p Larry Kolker; 5:15pBrad Cole; 5:30p Drew Jacobs; 5:45p Lois Morton.   AcousticMusicScene.com Tent Host Michael Kornfeld; 12p Island Songwriters Showcase: Suzanne Ernst, Walt Sargent; 12:30p Long Island Fingerstyle Guitar Club: Dan Doll, Lisa Doll, Bill Scorzari; 1p FMSH Members ShowcaseEli Maniscalco, John Taylor, Bob Westcott; 1:30p Music From the Hive: Naomi Margolin & Mark Newman, Roger Silverberg, Ivette Torres-Albano; 2:10p Kerrville New Folk WinnersHonor Finnegan, Paul Sachs; 2:30p Tribes Hill-Hudson Valley Song Circle: Susan Kane, Judith Kass, Larry Kolker, The Levins, Lisa Jane Lipkin, South County; 3:30p Brad Cole, Joe Iadanza; 4p Funny Folk: Drew Jacobs, Lois Morton; 4:30p Arlon Bennett, Tony Denikos, Hiroyo Tsukamoto; 5p Peter Calo, Steve Chizmadia, Kat Quinn; 5:30p Jeremiah Birnbaum, Sarah Blacker, Scott Wolfson & Other Heroes.   Spuyten Duyvil Concert OpeningMarci Geller with Josh Joffen  Heckscher Park, Huntington 

All summer Huntington Arts Council www.huntingtonarts.org 631-271-8423 + Annual Summer Arts Festival + Annual Long Island Fall Festival + other events with music + Sat July 20 Folk Music Society of Huntington outdoor12 noon- 6p   all afternoon Summer Festival including Evening Concert 8:30pm Spuyten Duyvil Opening Marci Geller with Josh Joffen  Concert Opening Marci Geller with Josh Joffen Heckscher Park, Huntington + Sun July 21 Special 7:45pm Corey Harris & Toby Walker Blues Night+ Meet the Artist Series!  Pre-performance interview and Q&A forCorey Harris and Toby Walker with John PlattWFUV 90.7FM “Sunday Breakfast” host and Director of Communications. Interview will begin at 7:45pm. + plus lots of other dates

+ Mon July 22 Harry Chapin Tribute Host Stuart Markus All your favorite performers Bring non perishable food & money for Benefit Eisenhower Park East Meadow +

+ Sat Aug 17 Long Island Bluegrass Festival James Reams & the Barnstormers; Buddy Merriam & Back Roads; Yankee Rebels; The Falco Brothers & Cousin Chris; Miller’s Crossing; Vincent Cross Noon-8pm BACCA The Babylon Citizens Council on the Arts, Tanner Park, Copiague  www.babylonarts.org 631-587-3696 with Long Island Traditional Music Association stage

Sun 2pm Islip Arts Council http://islipartscouncil.org/ Bayard Cutting Arboretum + July 21 Janine DiNatale; + July 28 Homegrown String Band; + Aug 4 Jan Wickline; + Aug 11 Linda Ipanema/ Dixie Cats + Aug 18 Union Jazz + August 25 Easy Street

Tues 12:30p Brown Bag Lunch Concerts, Bay Shore Band Shell, Dr. King Park, Main St. Bay Shore, Bay Shore BID & Islip Arts Council + July 16 Lone Sharks, country + July 23 Ahmad Ali, oldies rock + July 30 Union Jazz, jazz + Aug 6 JK Hodge, pianist + Aug 13 Ol’ Blue Eyes Jerry Cardone + Aug 20 Nigel’s Acoustic Bridge, bluegrass + Aug 27 Jan Wickline & the Amber City Band, folk rock

Wed Aug 28 Sayville Common Ground Series Islip Arts Council NY Most Dangerous Big Band 7pm

Each County, Town, City & Village has summer programs

——-

Fourth Saturday Song Box Fourteenth Season + Fourth Sat Sept 28 Gathering Times + Fourth Sat Oct 25 The Kennedys Watch for Winter 2013 & Spring 2014 shows. Concert reservations songbox@optonline.net 516-579-5365 (Collects Food)

Third Fri Our Times Coffeehouse   http://www.ourtimescoffeehouse.org + Third Fri Sept 20 Joni Mitchell’s Blue: A 40th Anniversary Celebration features a stellar cast of some of the New York City area’s finest female singer/songwriters – plus Philadelphia percussionist Cheryl Prashker – in celebration of Joni Mitchell’s landmark album, Blue. The evening includes performances of ALL the songs from Blue plus original songs inspired by Joni Mitchell. Performers include: Meg Braun megbraun.com; Anna Dagmar annadagmar.com; Honor Finnegan honorfinnegan.com; Sharon Goldman sharongoldmanmusic.com; Victoria Lavington cdbaby.com/VictoriaLavington; Catherine Miles wearetheyayas.com; Karyn Oliver karynoliver.com; Elisa Peimer elisapeimer.com; Cheryl Prashker cherylprashker.com; Allison Scola allisonscola.com; Carolann Solebello carolannsolebello.com;Allison Tartalia allisonsinvention.com + Third Fri Oct 18 Counterclockwise Ensemble (Rich Stein, Dr. Andrew Perea, Rebecca Perea, Glen Saunders, & Jim Mansfield) + Third Fri Nov 15 Brother Sun www.brothersunmusic.com (A trio of national touring artists: Joe Jencks, Greg Greenway, Pat Wictor www.joejencks.com;www.greggreenway.comwww.patwictor.com) (Collects Food)

—-

To receive or stop Song Box LI Folk Music Email RdeBruin@OptonLine.net

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: